A cross section of TDs have issued a statement calling on Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore to issue a public statement in relation to Palestinian hunger striker Khader Adnan, calling for the prisoner’s release or, if there is any evidence against the prisoner, for the prisoner to be afforded a fair trial.

 Khader Adnan has been on hunger strike continuously for 61 days and is now in “immediate danger of death”, according to his doctor and according to Physicians for Human Rights Israel[i]. He is being held in a hospital with an opposing arm and leg shackled to the bed. Khader Adnan was arrested on December 17th and given a four month administrative detention sentence without an official charge against him.

 Palestinians are routinely arrested under so-called “administrative detention” by which Israel can hold them without trial for a six month period. At the end of that period the Israeli state can extend administrative detention without giving reasons for why it is doing so. According to international law, administrative detention can be used only in the most exceptional cases, as the last means available for preventing danger that cannot be thwarted otherwise. Israel’s use of administrative detention violates these restrictions and denies detainees the possibility of mounting a proper defense. Israel is currently holding 307 Palestinians in administrative detention in facilities run by the Israel Prison Service. 132 of these prisoners are minors under the age of 18[ii].

Khader Adnan’s internal organs have begun to fail. If he dies he will be leaving behind a pregnant wife and two small children.

 The undersigned TDs urge the Tánaiste to make a public statement calling for either the immediate release of Khader Adnan or for him to be allowed a trial with due process as is required under international law.


Richard Boyd Barrett TD, Joe Higgins TD, Clare Daly TD, Joan Collins TD, Luke Flanagan TD,Mick Wallace TD,Thomas Pringle TD,Gerry Adams TD,Mary Lou McDonald TD,Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD,Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD,Michael Colreavy TD,Seán Crowe TD,Pearse Doherty TD,Dessie Ellis TD,Martin Ferris TD,Sandra McLellan TD,Pádraig Mac Lochlainn TD,Jonathan O’Brien TD,Brian Stanley TD,Peadar Tóibín TD,Patrick Nulty TD

[i] http://phr.org.il/default.asp?PageID=116&ItemID=1385

[ii] http://www.btselem.org/administrative_detention/statistics